LEROY TWP. - Supervisors reorganized Monday and gave the OK to a subdivision.

Supervisors also heard a report about a change in leadership at the Canton Volunteer Fire Department.

During the organizational meeting, supervisor Ted Tomlinson was elected chairman and supervisor Jason Krise, vice chairman. Tomlinson will continue serving as secretary/treasurer.

The supervisors kept the same road workers: foreman Jared Wilcox, Butch May, and Ron Chaapel.

Supervisors appointed the following committee members; supervisor David Atherton-Ely, COG; Krise and Tomlinson, Bradford County Sanitation; and Tomlinson, fire department representative. The state conference representative position is being kept if someone decides they want to go.

Brann, Williams, Caldwell & Sheetz will be the township's legal counsel, Wilcox will serve as vacancy board chairman and First Citizens Bank will be the depository for township funds.

Supervisors will continue meeting at 7 p.m. on the first Monday of the month, with the exception of September, due to Labor Day, when they will meet Sept. 9.

During the regular meeting, supervisors approved a subdivision, located along Route 414, for Tania Chaapel.

Tomlinson reported that he attended the fire department meeting recently.

He said Canton Fire Chief Kim Jennings' resignation was accepted, and J. Scott May was named the new fire chief.

May is also the township's emergency management coordinator, and Tomlinson said it's hoped he will stay in that position.

Eric Hrin can be reached at (570) 297-5251; email: reviewtroy@thedailyreview.com