Monroe Township to cut taxes

The Board of Supervisors for Monroe township met for their reorganizational meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2013. Election of officers - Charles Shaffer was elected chairman; Smokey Allen, vice-chairman; and David Dunn, supervisor; Wayne Lantz, roadmaster; Derrick Allen, laborer; Julie Jennings, secretary-treasurer; Wayne Lantz, vacancy board; and Don Stranger, Emergency Management coordinator. Wayne Lantz and Derrick Allen were given 50 cent an hour raises.

Next on the agenda was discussion on what to do with the Impact Fee funds of $271,869.70. Supervisor Dunn made a motion to drop five mills off of the township taxes, which would cut the taxes in half. All agreed. Supervisor Shaffer would like to see four more miles of tarring and chipping in the township. More discussion will be held at the Feb. 12 meeting. Our contract with the Ulster Animal Shelter is up for renewal and Supervisor Dunn made a motion to give an extra $100 this year - all agreed.

2013 meetings will be held at 6 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Community Alliance Church, Route 220, Monroeton. If anyone is interested in serving as a township auditor, there are two positions available, please contact Secretary Julie Jennings, at (570) 364-8054.