TROY - Everybody loves a parade, and the Troy Area School District will be having one soon.

On Tuesday, the school board approved, as a sanctioned district event, a Homecoming Parade to be held on Oct. 11.

District business administrator Traci Gilliland said she will work with the parade organizer on getting the necessary materials to provide to the borough for the parade to take place.

In other business, the board tabled the approval of the lease agreement with Alparon Park for home football games at the park.

Gilliland asked that the board table the matter because the district hadn't received the final draft of the agreement from Alparon Park yet.

After some discussion, the board chose its candidates in the Pennsylvania School Boards Association election. For president elect, board members chose Mark B. Miller; vice president, Larry B. Breech; treasurer, Otto W. Voit III; and at-large representative (central), Kathy Swope.

W.R. Croman Primary School Principal Steve Brion noted that open house will be held tonight at the school. In addition, board members discussed developing a policy for communicating with the public which could involve, for example, the district getting back to a resident with a question or concern within a specified time period, such as 48 hours.

The board accepted the resignations of Meredith Davison, Junior Class Advisor, effective Aug. 21, and Rachel Ives, Senior Class Advisor, effective Sept. 5.

The board approved the following professional staff substitutes: Seth Grantier, secondary social studies; Danielle Odell, special education; Katherine Kingsley, English 7-12; Christina Webster, elementary K-6; Heather DePhillips, special education, elementary; and Theresa Morgan, elementary K-6.

Virginia Piontek was approved as a support staff substitute.

The following people were given winter coaching contracts: Robert Woodward, Matt Allen, Robert Gentile, Rachel Ives, Joseph Millard, Brock Parker, Matt Williams, Jason Williams, Bryan Signor, Jennifer Judson, Stacy Rogers, Danylle Lindsey, Dan Hoppaugh, Yancey Snyder and Gary Ward.

The board went into executive session following the meeting for contract negotiations.

Eric Hrin can be reached at (570) 297-5251; email: