MANSFIELD - Two years ago the Northeast Bradford Panthers were one of the most dominant teams in the state.

They won the NTL and District 4 titles and nearly brought home a state crown.

A year ago was a bit of a rebuilding year. They lost some top runners to graduation and last year they watched the Canton Warriors capture an NTL title.

On Tuesday the Panthers were back on top of the NTL, winning the league title with an undefeated regular season, beating Athens 17-42 and Mansfield 15-50. Athens beat

Mansfield 15-50.

"It feels pretty good," senior Curt Jewett said. "It feels great to get it (the NTL title) back."

While the victory on Tuesday was good, Northeast Bradford coach Mike Murphy knows that's not his team's number one goal.

"It's pretty good, we are happy to get the league title, but our main focus is on the state meet," he said. "We've got good front runners, but our main focus is trying to win districts and get to states and keeping our focus on the team. We want to try to go after our first team state title. We want to focus on that and anything Curt and Sam (Williams) do is a bonus."

On Tuesday Williams won in 16:28, followed by Jewett in 16:29 and Brandon Devonshire in 16:46.

Athens' Matt Millard was next in 16:56, followed by the Panthers' Levi Upham (17:25) and Derek Allabaugh (17:31) and Ben Horton (18:36).

Athens' Alex Walter (18:46) and Sam Perri (19:08) and Northeast Bradford's Sam Beers (19:17).

For the Panthers the hope on Tuesday was to try and get all five runners to cross together, but Millard broke up those plans with his fourth-place finish.

"That was the goal to get everyone out fast and try and finish together," Williams said. "But, Matt ran a great race and broke that up."

The Northeast Bradford runners are all hoping to continue this success at the NTL and district and even state meets.

"We are shooting for that," Williams said. "We hope we can win the district title, get a state bid and even make a run at the state title."

For the Panthers last year they learned a lot as runners like Allabaugh, who was a freshman last season, had to adjust to varsity running.

"You are pumped up for the first race and then the atmosphere hits you," Allabaugh said. "The first my flies by and you see how fast everyone is."

This year the Panthers knew they would have a strong team with those runners getting more experience, runners like Williams, Jewett and Devonshire returning and Upham coming in as a freshman.

"We knew we would have a good team this year," Devonshire said. "We couldn't ask for more than this."

For Upham this was a whole new experience.

"I have never be on anything like this, I'm happy to be a part of it," he said.

Murphy knows his team learned a lot from last year and the finish at states in 2010.

"2010 was our year and we went through that year with a lot of stress, a lot of sleepless nights," Murphy said. "This year we are trying to keep it fun but also work harder. I think for the younger kids, having a team like Canton press us last year really made them work harder over the summer. What we learned from 2010 is you need to be more than good runners. You need to be smart in the classroom. You need to be smart on the course. It takes more than just being a good runner. Curt, Sam and Brandon ran on that team and Levi's brother (Kent) was on that team so you have four kids that want some redemption from 2010 and the rest of the kids, who doesn't want to be a state champion?"

In the junior high race Northeast Bradford's Austin Senn (8:55) and Garrett Smith (8:55) took the top two spots, followed by Mansfield's Blake Nelson (9:16) and Northeast Bradford's Nathan Mosier (9:29) and Brian Horton (9:30).

Canton 27, Towanda 28

Towanda 23, Troy 35

Canton 21, Troy 36

Troy 19, CV 36

Towanda 15, CV 41

Canton 16, CV 50

Towanda's Aaron Valaroso won in 15:36, followed by teammate Simon Smith in 15:57.

Canton's Emmett Watson was third in 16:33, followed by teammates Brennan Gleckner (16:55) and Brooks Gleckner (17:07).

Troy's Robin VanHoutte (17:13) and Ethan Calkins (17:19). Canton's Darren Killian was eighth at 17:27, followed by Towanda's Kevin Blackman (17:41) and Skylar Smith (17:50).

In the JV race Troy beat Canton 16-35. Towanda and CV had incomplete teams.

Evan Miller of CV won in 12:23, followed by Troy's Kale Weidner (12:33) and Avery Watkins (12:35). CV's Matt Freeman (12:45) and Caleb Bieseir (12:49).

Wellsboro 25, Wyalusing 31

Wellsboro 22, Sayre 33

Wyalusing 23, Sayre 32

Wellsboro's Jordan Jackson (17:05), Bobby Hill (17:40) and Joey Doganiero (17:48).

Wyalusing's Zamien Benditt-Parks was fourth in 18:21, followed by Sayre's Lorenzo Servedio (18:42).

Waverly's Brenten Gerould was sixth in 18:46, followed by Sayre's Nate Romanauski (18:49), Wyalusing's Jordan Schools (19:15) and Mark Kusmierz (19:19) and Sayre's Andy Platt (19:36).

IAC Championships

Newark Valley 52, Waverly 53, Edison 73, SVE 75, Watkins Glen 93

Waverly's Colin Traub was fifth (18:20.5) and Randy Chandler (18:27.2) was sixth to both earn first-team divisional all-star status.

Andy Kinsley was ninth in 18:31.1 and Mark Kraus was 12th in 18:46.6 as both earned second-team honors.

Garrett Sutryk was 26th in 20:04.9, followed by Alex Uhl in 20:08. Brian Schlichter was 32nd in 20:42.1, Rich Northrop was 37th in 21:32.6, Brody Sprague was 42nd in 22:51.3, Brandon Whitley was 46th in 23:29.1 and Kacey Madigan was 49th in 24:05.1

Brendon Walker of Tioga was fourth in 18:07.1 to earn first-team honors.

Tioga's Gage Lubertowicz was 50th in 24:05.4 and Jacob Schweiger was 51st in 24:14.3, while Ryan Blaksley of Tioga was 56th in 28:36.3.

Watkins Glen's Matt Gill won in 16:51.8.