Sophomore Kate Pratt, a Troy grad, and senior Justen Johnson have been named the 2012 Mansfield University Spring Athletes of the Year.

Pratt picks up her second Athlete of the Year award after earning the honor as a freshman last season.

Splitting time between playing shortstop and pitching, Pratt helped Mansfield to its most overall and conference wins (20, 7) since the 2006 season.

The sophomore ranked second in the PSAC in slugging percentage (.776), third in doubles (14), fourth in RBIs (42), seventh in total bases (90), and ninth in batting average (.379). Pratt set the single-season school record for home runs with 10 and extra base hits with 25.

In the circle, Pratt led Mansfield with a 7-5 record in 12 starts which included eight complete games and two shutouts. She finished the season with a 2.57 ERA and ranked fifth in the conference in opponent batting average at .224.

Pratt was twice named PSAC Central Pitcher of the Week and earned Player of the Week honors once during the season. Her post-season accolades include: 1st Team All-PSAC Central, Capital One Academic All-District 1st team, Daktronics 2nd team All-Atlantic Region and NFCA 1st team All-Atlantic Region.

Pratt is a MU Presidential and PSAC Scholar-Athlete and earned the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award.

Johnson, a sprinter on the men's track and field team, has been selected to his second consecutive Athlete of the Year accolade after receiving the honor for the 2011-12 indoor track & field season.

Johnson capped off an impressive senior year by finishing 3rd in the 400m finals with his time of 47.97 at the PSAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships in May. He was also a member of the men's 4x400m team that placed 9th at the conference championships while setting a school-record time in the process.

With his school-record time of 47.96 in the 400m, Johnson had provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships. However, the senior narrowly missed his second trip to nationals by a tenth of a second.

Johnson earned the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award and is an MU Presidential and PSAC Scholar-Athlete.