The Wyalusing Ball Association 12 and under baseball team recently took second in the District 5 competition in Honesdale and now they will be coming home to show off their skills.

The Wyalusing Ball Association was chosen to host the Pennsylvania state tournament, which will be held from July 12 through the 16.

Three of the teams featured will be Wyalusing, Forrest City and Valley View while the other three teams have yet to be chosen.

In the competition Wyalusing went 3-2, beating Waymart 15-14, Delaware Valley 9-8 and Valley View 10-5 while falling to Forrest City twice 9-6 and 10-0.

This is the first time any team from Wyalusing has made it to the state level of competition.

They boast players from Wyalusing (Shawn O'Dell, Brandon Dake and Darren Schum) and Sullivan County (Jared Houck, Brian Lewis and Brice Hoffman from Forksville, Jacob Doyle, Lucas Shultz and David Maxwell from Mildred and Jordan Yellenic and Will Kiner from Dushore).

During the district competition they had five players earn MVP pins. Doyle earned one for hitting the most home runs in the tournament (3), including two grand slams, Shultz earned one for his seventh inning home run to beat Delaware Valley, Lewis earned a pin for having the highest batting average, Hoffman earned a pin for turning a double play that sent a game into extra innings and Schum earned a pin for a diving catch he made in their win over Valley View.

Wyalusing also had the most home runs in the tournament with eight: Doyle (3), Shultz (2), Kiner (1), Hoffman (1) and Lewis (1).

They will now test their talent in even tougher tournament.

The state tournament will begin at 6 p.m. on Friday, July 12 with two more games the following day at 10 a.m. and noon. At 3 p.m. on Saturday there will be a parade of the teams followed by a skills competition at 4 p.m.

On Sunday the action continues with games at 10 a.m. and noon with the top four moving on to Monday.

The semi-finals will be at 6 p.m. with the winners going to the championship game on Tuesday, which will be played at 6 p.m.

The top two teams go to the Mid-Atlantic Regional tournament.